Elmwood School has a governing body made up of eleven members (9 governors and two associate members).  These include representatives from the Local Authority, community (co-opted), parents and staff.  A vacancy exists for a co-opted governor to join the team.

The Chair of Governors is Ms Tracy Brandwood and the Vice-chair is Mrs Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen. The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Dawn Canham.

The Governing Body has three main key roles which are to provide a strategic view, to act as a critical friend to the headteacher and staff and to ensure accountability.


The Governing Body bring a wealth of expertise to the School.  In addition to the Headteacher, Lee Cross, we have the following Governors:-

Ms Tracy Brandwood has a lot of experience as a support worker for young people with special needs.  Ms Brandwood is link governor for behaviour and attitudes, staff support and scrutiny. Ms Brandwood was appointed as Chair of Governors in November 2017.

Mrs Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen joined the Governing Body in January 2018 as an LA Governor and  is an Assistant Head and SENCO at a local primary School.  Mrs Tuckwell-Allen is the link governor for safeguarding/scrutiny and was appointed as Vice Chair of Governors in November 2018.

Mrs Rose Burley has also been a governor for many years at both primary and secondary schools.  She is an elected local Councillor as well as Deputy Mayor of Walsall and sits on many committees.  Mrs Burley is the link Governor for communtiy cohesion.

Mr James Hawkins is one of our Family Welfare Officers and was elected staff governor with effect from 29th March 2020.  Mr Hawkins is the link governor for attendance/scrutiny.

Ms Jamie-Leigh Roberts mom to a Year 8 pupil, joined the Governing Body on the 16th October 2019 as a parent governor. Jamie is joink link governor for pupil wellbeing/scrutiny.

Ms Joanna Hall, mom to a Year 9 pupil, joined the Governing Body on the 13th October 2020 as a parent governor. Joanna is joint link governor for pupil wellbeing/scrutiny.

Miss Sarah Thornton, mom to a Year 8 pupil, joined the Governing Body on the 17th March 2021 as a parent governor.

The views of parents and carers are always welcome and their input into school life is encouraged wherever possible.

Ms Georgina Edmunds joined the Governing Body as an associate member in October 2019.  Georgina is an experienced governor and acts as a corporate parent for a number of pupils at Elmwood.  Georgina is the link governor for pupil premium.

Currently there is a vacancy for a co-opted governor and a staff governor when the term of office ends for James Hawkins on 25th June 2021.


Over the last twelve months the following governors have left the governing body.

In April 2021 Mr Dave Watton resigned from his role as an  Associate Member of the governing body having previously stepped down as an LA governor in 2014.  Mr Watton has been a governor at the school since it opened in January 2008 and has been a real asset to the team.  Dave will be sadly missed and we wish him all the best for the future.

In March 2021, Mrs Suzanne Hill’s term of office as a Parent Governor ended having been elected by parents in March 2018.   Mrs Hill was link governor for parental engagement and during her time as a governor, helped to raise considerable amounts of money for our school fund account.

At the end of July 2020, Rita Martin, co-opted governor and link governor for Careers ended her time as a governor. Mrs Martin was appointed in May 2018 by the Governing body and has been a good friend to the Elmwood community forging good relationships with not only staff but also with parents and pupils during her role as an independent careers adviser.  

May 2020 saw the end of the term of office for Mrs Theresa Cheetham as a parent governor.  Mrs Cheetham was elected by parents in May 2016. Throughout her time as a governor, Mrs Cheetham, was a great advocate for the School and we thank her for her support and wish her well for the future.

In March 2020 Mr Ashley Holmes’ term of office as a Staff Governor ended having been elected by staff in March 2016.  Mr Holmes Mr Holmes was a dedicated and conscientious  governor and whose support was very much appreciated.  


In addition to a termly meeting held by the whole governing body during the Spring, Summer and Autumn term, governors are also members of individual committees, which meet on a regular basis.  It is sometimes necessary for special meetings to be arranged when a matter of urgency arises.

Termly meetings are scheduled for 4.00 pm on:

Autumn – Thursday 12th November 2020 and Thursday 10th December 2020 (EB)

Spring – Thursday 11th February 2021 (EB) and Thursday 18th March 2021

Summer – Thursday 27th May 2021and Thursday 8th July 2021 (EB)

Committees consider financial, personnel, pupil and building matters.

Finance & Pay Committee meetings are scheduled for 10.00 am on:

Autumn – Monday 19th October 2020 and Monday 7th December 2020

Spring – Monday 8th February 2021 and Monday 29th March 2021

Summer – Monday 17th May 2021 and Monday 5th July 2021

Sites and Buildings Committee meetings are scheduled for  3.00 pm on:

Autumn – Wednesday 9th December 2020

Spring – Tuesday 2nd March 2021

Summer – Tuesday 15th June 2021

Curriculum and Policies Committee meetings are scheduled for 4.00 pm on:

Autumn – Thursday 3rd December 2020

Spring – Tuesday 30th March 2021

Summer – Thursday 1st July 2021

Copies of any public minutes can be obtained from the Clerk to the Governors via the School; a charge for copying would be applicable.


When time allows Governors support the School where possible by attending events, functions and training.

Previously these have included theme days, hospitality and catering events and assemblies.

Governors are also involved in the recruitment of any new staff to the School.


Governor Name Type of Governor Chair (CH) or Vice Chair (VC) Committee Chair Connections to Staff, Yes or No If Yes, who and how. Term of Office End Date Other School Governor Posts held. Name of school and governor type Business Interests declared. Yes of No If yes please state
Tracy Brandwood CG CH Staff Dismissal Appeal Complaints Panel Appraisal Committee No 7/10/21   Yes Owl Behaviour Consultancy
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen LA VC   No 31/12/21 Pelsall Village School No
Rose Burley CG   Staff Dismissal

Finance and Pay

Pupil Support

No 7/10/21 Salisbury Primary

Rowley View Nursery

Co opted Governor Vacancy CG            
James Hawkins STF   Curriculum and Policies No 29/3/24   No
Lee Cross STF     No Upon leaving employment of School   No
Jamie-Leigh Roberts PG      No  15/10/23    No
Joanna Hall PG     No 12/10/24   Yes Sentire-Sensory UK
Sarah Thornton PG     No 16/3/25   No
Dave Watton Associate Member   Appraisal Appeals

Sites and Buildings

No 21/10/22   No
Georgina Edmunds Associate Member     No 15/10/23   No

Legend:LA – Local Authority appointed (recommended) by Walsall CouncilPG – Parent Governor, elected by parents at the schoolSTF – Staff governor elected by staff at the schoolCG – Co-opted Governor, appointed by the governing body


STAFF DISMISSALRose Burley (Chair)
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Georgina Edmunds
Dave Watton
FINANCE AND PAYRose Burley - Chair
Dave Watton
Tracy Brandwood
Lee Cross
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Sarah Thornton
PUPIL SUPPORTRose Burley - Chair
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Tracy Brandwood
Dave Watton
James Hawkins
Lee Cross
Jamie-Leigh Roberts
COMPLAINTS PANELTracy Brandwood - Chair
Rose Burley
James Hawkins
Lee Cross
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Georgina Edmunds
APPRAISAL COMMITTEETracy Brandwood - Chair
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Rose Burley