Elmwood School has a governing body made up of eleven members (9 governors and two associate members).  These include representatives from the Local Authority, community (co-opted), parents and staff.  As of May 2020 a vacancy exists for a parent governor to join the team.

The Chair of Governors is Ms Tracy Brandwood and the Vice-chair is Mrs Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen. The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Dawn Canham.

The Governing Body has three main key roles which are to provide a strategic view, to act as a critical friend to the headteacher and staff and to ensure accountability.


The Governing Body bring a wealth of expertise to the School.  In addition to the Headteacher, Lee Cross, we have the following Governors:-

Ms Tracy Brandwood has a lot of experience as a support worker for young people with special needs.  Ms Brandwood is link governor for behaviour, the nurture unit as well as staff support. Ms Brandwood was appointed as Chair of Governors in November 2017.

Mrs Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen joined the Governing Body in January 2018 as an LA Governor and  is an Assistant Head and SENCO at a local primary School.  Mrs Tuckwell-Allen is also the Safeguarding/SEN Governor and was appointed as Vice Chair of Governors in November 2018.

Mrs Rose Burley has also been a governor for many years at both primary and secondary schools.  She is an elected local Councillor as well as Deputy Mayor of Walsall and sits on many committees.  Mrs Burley is the joint link Governor for safeguarding and staff support.

Mr James Hawkins is one of our Family Welfare Officers and was elected staff governor with effect from 29th March 2020. 

Mrs Suzanne Hill, mom to a former pupil who left in July 2018, was elected as a Parent Governor in March 2017. Mrs Hill is link governor for parental engagement.

Ms Jamie-Leigh Roberts mom to a Year 8 pupil, joined the Governing Body on the 16th October 2019 as a parent governor.

The views of parents and carers are always welcome and their input into school life is encouraged wherever possible.

Mr Dave Watton is a retired engineer and has also been a governor of a local primary school for a number of years.  At the end of the summer term 2014 Mr Watton resigned from his role as an LA Governor at the School but as continued his links as an Associate Member attending Full Governing Body Meetings.  Mr Watton has been given voting rights and is on various committees.  In addition he is the health and safety governor and science link governor.

I was invited to become a Local Authority Governor and first took up post in February 2008 upon the opening of Elmwood School. I helped with the move into our present building in September 2008 and have served as both Vice Chair and also as Chair of Governors. I resigned from my role of Local Authority Governor in July 2014, and I was appointed as an Associate Member in September 2014 as I still wished to be a part of the Governing Body. Because of my long experience in engineering I am the lead Governor for Science  and for Health and Safety. I have had the privilege of watching Elmwood grow into the outstanding School that it now is.

Ms Georgina Edmunds joined the Governing Body as an associate member in October 2019.  Georgina is an experienced governor and acts as a corporate parent for a number of pupils at Elmwood.  Georgina is the link governor for pupil premium.

Currently vacancies exist for a parent and co-opted governor.


Over the last twelve months the following governors have left the governing body.

At the end of July 2020, Rita Martin, co-opted governor and link governor for Careers ended her time as a governor. Mrs Martin was appointed in May 2018 by the Governing body and has been a good friend to the Elmwood community forging good relationships with not only staff but also with parents and pupils during her role as an independent careers adviser.  

May 2020 saw the end of the term of office for Mrs Theresa Cheetham as a parent governor.  Mrs Cheetham was elected by parents in May 2016. Throughout her time as a governor, Mrs Cheetham, was a great advocate for the School and we thank her for her support and wish her well for the future.

In March 2020 Mr Ashley Holmes’ term of office as a Staff Governor ended having been elected by staff in March 2016.  Mr Holmes Mr Holmes was a dedicated and conscientious  governor and whose support was very much appreciated.  


In addition to a termly meeting held by the whole governing body during the Spring, Summer and Autumn term, governors are also members of individual committees, which meet on a regular basis.  It is sometimes necessary for special meetings to be arranged when a matter of urgency arises.

Termly meetings are scheduled for 4.00 pm on:

Autumn – Thursday 12th November 2020

Spring – Thursday 18th March 2021

Summer – Thursday 27th May 2021

Committees consider financial, personnel, pupil and building matters.

Finance & Pay Committee meetings are scheduled for 10.00 am on:

Autumn – Monday 19th October 2020

Spring – Monday 8th February 2021

Summer – Monday 17th May 2021

Sites and Buildings Committee meetings are scheduled for  3.00 pm on:

Autumn – Tuesday 6th October 2020

Spring – Tuesday 2nd March 2021

Summer – Tuesday 15th June 2021

Curriculum and Policies Committee meetings are scheduled for 4.00 pm on:

Autumn – Thursday 3rd December 2020

Spring – Thursday 25th March 2021

Summer – Thursday 1st July 2021

Copies of any public minutes can be obtained from the Clerk to the Governors via the School; a charge for copying would be applicable.


When time allows Governors support the School where possible by attending events, functions and training.

Previously these have included theme days, hospitality and catering events and assemblies.

Governors are also involved in the recruitment of any new staff to the School.


Governor Name Type of Governor Chair (CH) or Vice Chair (VC) Committee Chair Connections to Staff, Yes or No If Yes, who and how. Term of Office End Date Other School Governor Posts held. Name of school and governor type Business Interests declared. Yes of No If yes please state
Tracy Brandwood CG CH Staff Dismissal Appeal Complaints Panel Appraisal Committee No 7/10/21   Yes Owl Behaviour Consultancy
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen LA VC   No 31/12/21 Pelsall Village School No
Rose Burley CG   Staff Dismissal

Finance and Pay

Pupil Support

No 7/10/21 Salisbury Primary

Rowley View Nursery

Co opted Governor Vacancy CG            
James Hawkins STF   Curriculum and Policies No 29/3/24   No
Lee Cross STF     No Upon leaving employment of School   No
Jamie-Leigh Roberts PG      No  15/10/23    No
Parent Governor Vacancy PG            
Suzanne Hill PG     No 16/3/21   No
Dave Watton Associate Member   Appraisal Appeals

Sites and Buildings

No 21/10/22   No
Georgina Edmunds Associate Member     No 15/10/23   No

Legend:LA – Local Authority appointed (recommended) by Walsall CouncilPG – Parent Governor, elected by parents at the schoolSTF – Staff governor elected by staff at the schoolCG – Co-opted Governor, appointed by the governing body


STAFF DISMISSALRose Burley (Chair)
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Georgina Edmunds
Dave Watton
FINANCE AND PAYRose Burley - Chair
Dave Watton
Tracy Brandwood
Lee Cross
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Suzanne Hill
PUPIL SUPPORTRose Burley - Chair
Tracy Brandwood
Dave Watton
James Hawkins
Lee Cross
COMPLAINTS PANELTracy Brandwood - Chair
Rose Burley
James Hawkins
Lee Cross
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Georgina Edmunds
APPRAISAL COMMITTEETracy Brandwood - Chair
Sallyann Tuckwell-Allen
Rose Burley